Friday, July 17, 2009

The Searchers

The Regents announced the search committee for the next President of Texas A&M University.

Committee Chair:

  • Chair: Regent Richard Box, A&M System Board of Regents

Committee Members:

  • Regent Ida Clement Steen, A&M System Board of Regents
  • Regent Lupe Fraga, A&M System Board of Regents
  • Dr. John Junkins, Distinguished Professor; Regents Professor; Director, Center for Mechanics and Control, Department of Aerospace Engineering
  • Dr. Tim Hall, Distinguished Professor; Director, Institute of Developmental and Molecular Biology, Department of Biology
  • Dr. Robert Bednarz, Speaker, Faculty Senate; Professor, Department of Geography
  • Dr. Mark Hussey, Vice Chancellor and Dean of College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Former Head of Soil & Crop Sciences Department
  • Dr. Antonio Cepeda-Benito, Dean of Faculties and Associate Provost
  • Mr. Eric Beckham, Student Body President
  • Ms. Meredith Maloney, President, Student Chapter of the American Veterinary Medicine Assn.
  • Ms. Shelley Potter, Chair of the Board, The Association of Former Students
  • Mr. Thomas Saylak, Chairman of Board of Trustees, Texas A&M Foundation
  • Mr. Neal Adams, Attorney; Former Vice Chair and Member, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
  • Dr. David Parrott, Executive Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Student Life
  • Dr. Frank Ashley, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, A&M System
The Houston Chronicle points out that Regent Box is also Gov Perry's treasurer for his reelection campaign. But this is balanced by at least one member being a contributor to Hutchinson. Vision 1920 does not know if there are any Friedman supporters on the committee, however.

Regent Fraga was also on the 2007 search committee, which failed to offer the Regents a real choice. Vision 1920 speculates that the full Board is giving Fraga a second chance to show he won't fall for the faculty's Jedi mind tricks again.

No comments:

Post a Comment